Technique Variations

MBuzzy

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm wondering how many variations there are to a certain technique?

For example, Shomenuchi Ikkyo, you have an omote and an ura variation. But beyond that, are there multiple ways to execute shomenuchi ikkyo? The name only implies the attack and the way that the wrist is being manipulated (if I understand correctly). So it seems to me that there are multiple ways to defend from a shomenuchi and still use an ikkyo manipulation.

Beyond that, does every school and every style of Aikido execute a Shomenuchi Ikkyo the same way? Or does this federation have one way, another school have another way, etc?

I suppose it just seems to me that there are some very basic concepts, but thousands of ways to apply those concepts to achieve your goal.

7starmarc

Green Belt
Reaction score
I am very new to Aikido, so perhaps someone else can shed some other light on the subject. I read recently, however, that O'Sensei was actually not very enthusiastic about giving names to the techniques, feeling that each time you performed a technique, there was a uniqueness to it. It wasn't until later, when students insisted on a more codified system, that naming came into being. Again, in my limited experience, I have seen the same moves called by different names in videos, demonstrations, etc. across schools, so I don't doubt that there are many variations that you will find. Even within my dojo, in a given session, techniques will be performed slightly (but significantly) differently depending upon uke and nage (experience, skill, relative size, slight variation of the attack, etc.).

CuongNhuka

Senior Master
Reaction score