Sticking with Your First Style?

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Looking at some of the threads here it seems as though virtually no one who has been in the arts for more than 5 years has stuck with the very first style they ever studied. In my case frequent moves were the reason I didn't stick with my second art (after 6 months of a McDojo), Isshin-ryu, which I enjoyed. If you have stuck with your first art, could you comment on why?

T

tigerstorm

I dont think I can answer with anything scientific to why you would have stayed. I can only say that Im still studying my first art and for the most part have had no formal class time in any other style since Ive started. I guess you just found the one that fits your mind body and spirit. For some reason a person can relate to the style there in you just happen to get lucky on the first stop.
Tigerstorm

K

Kirk

For myself, I had a strong fascination for martial arts, yet I knew
nothing about varying styles. After being in it just a little while,
I learned more, and decided to find the one that I felt I want to
spend a life time learning.

Cthulhu

Senior Master
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
My reasons were simple...my instructor left the U.S.A.F. and moved back to California, and I got married and moved to the other side of the state. As far as I know, I am literally the only Okinawa-te practitioner in the entire state of Florida.

Right now, I'm concentrating on my FMA studies, though I still practice the Okinawa-te forms.

Cthulhu

C

Chiduce

When i left the marines; there was no other matsumura orthodox shorin-ryu karate or shorin-ryu of any style school within my area. Just, goju-ryu, tai kwon do, karate, goshin-do etc,. Sincerely, In Humility; Chiduce!

F

fist of fury

My first art was okinawa te moving halfway acrss the country made me stop going. The commute to class was just too long.:D

T

TangSooGuy