Starting Martial arts

morgan8311

White Belt
Reaction score
I am starting martial arts after ages of researching and procrastinating. I am looking for general protection but also able to dominate and give some damage if needed.

From monday my martial arts schedule will be -
Monday - Aikido class 2 hours
Tuesday - Aikido class 2 hours
Wednesday - Parkour private lesson 1 hour
Thursday - Aikido class 2 hours
Friday - Aikido class 2 hours
Saturday - Wing chun private 1 hour
Sunday - off

I will practice all arts daily as well as going to the gym (I'm on summer break)

I know Parkour is a martial art by the way, i just thought it was relevant for fitness/body control.

Im a complete beginner in all, How long do you think it will take before i become effective at each?
Is this enough to get a good start?

Thank you

Jenna

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Good for you investing all this effort -and probably cash- to get your self trained. Can I ask please what is your inspiration or motivation for all of this intensive simultaneous training of multiple disciplines?

Welcome to MT btw :)

Dinkydoo

Purple Belt
Reaction score
My honest opinion, as an absolute beginner, there is too much variety in there and not enough time for solo practice in order to become proficient in each of the arts. You'll definitely need to increase practice time of your Wing Chun if you want to get good at it.

I can't comment on everyone elses training but I feel like I really need those hours a week where I'm practicing technique by myself; I see it as one of the most important parts of my solo practice (I also do loads of fitness and conditioning too).

I'd also suggest that (without knowing exactly how your Aikido classes are structured) that you should have a day or two where fitness - flexibility, cardio, strength...etc - are priority.