Spookey...Going Olympic Style!

Spookey

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Dear Gang,

I recently received an invitation to a small regional (probably semi-local) competition.

The continuous sparring interested me because I have never competed under the USTU / WTF rules by which this will be (minimally) conducted.

This afternoon I spoke with the instructor who is hosting the tournament and confirmed a few things I needed to know (the USTU Referee Manual is extremely precise on everything)...

I am definetly looking forward to this as I have never done it before in a competition and only have three weeks to train (basically, I will simply focus on sparring along the set scoring rules)!

I'll let you know how it goes and request any additional input you guys are willing to give!

Any words of incouragement, training, and strategy you are willing to share will be greatly appreciated!

TAEKWON!
SPooKeY

bignick

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I don't know how you're current rules for sparring are, but I know some people have had problems switching to Olympic-style rules where head punching is not allowed, even faking to the head with a hand strike is not allowed.

The new rules say that any valid hand technique (basically, closed fist) to the body that induces the "trembling shock" or body displacement will score. From what I've heard this is really being enforced, so don't overlook the hand techniques just because it is WTF rules.

And yes, the USTU/USAT rulebook is very thorough. Don't know how many other's here have sat through referee certification seminars where they've had to take turns reading the manual aloud, but it can get a little tedious after awhile with all the stuff they put in there.

OP
S

Spookey

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Bignick,

I dont think I will have a problem where hands to the head are concerned. In order to keep my kicks top notch we spar hands to chest and kicks at open range.