Sparring Gear - Getting More Comfortable In It

Rumy73

Black Belt
Reaction score
Greetings Everyone! I am relatively new to TKD (not to martial arts). I started this year and I am 38. I have to admit that I feel clumsy trying to execute certain kicks while in sparring gear. Back kick, hook kick and axe kick all come off slower than I would like. I struggle to make this kicks connect against some opponents. I am seeking advice to improve the situation. Does anyone practice at home in sparring gear - at least in the chest protector? Thank you in advance for your wisdom, tips and suggestions.

sfs982000

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I have the same issues as you do with executing certain techniques with the sparring gear on. I have practiced some at home with the gear to try and improve my speed (not nearly as much as I'd like), but it did seem to help out some.

dancingalone

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Practice your forms wearing the gear. Seriously. We often forget that the motions in patterns are supposed to be actualized real combat movement if done with that intent in mind and if so, then both your sparring AND pattern work would improve through practice with bulky gear on.

If you know some forms with ax kicks and hook kicks, great. If not, it's a simple matter to throw some in at logical spots in the form.

StudentCarl

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
I'm 48, and my kicks "come off slower than I'd like" too. That's free with age, but doesn't mean you can't get faster. It sounds like you're relating this to your gear.

My first question is whether your hogu fits right, as getting the right match for length is important. If it's too long or not worn high enough, it can get in the way. Your hogu should be loose enough that you can still take big breaths without interference and it should not interfere with your hip movement either.

Please give more specifics about what's going on.

Carl

OP
R

Rumy73

Black Belt
Reaction score