Sparring Equipment - Choosing the right gear

nickCR

White Belt
Reaction score
Forum,

I have been practicing Taekwondo for about 6-7 months now and am only a yellow/white belt but our class is starting to spar for upcoming fights. It seems like a good idea to get my own gear.

I bought the Chest Protector, the problem is though that I live in Costa Rica and my teacher gets this stuff and seems to price things a little steep like my DaeDo protector was $80. I asked what it would cost for the rest he said $40 for the arms, $40 for the legs and $60 for the helmet looking around on the net I see those price are really bloated. The quality of the daedo equipment seems good but the price isn't right.

With that said I have a few questions:

1. How do you know what is WTF approved? All adidas stuff is WTF but I know lots of people use Macho, ProForce, Kwon among others. Are there specific models of each that are approved?

2. The helmet has two versions. Dipped and Vinyl covered. Both seems like great options. I've used the dipped version but since i'm buying my own i'd like to make sure I get a good helmet as my head is just a little important :).

3. Arms & Legs there seems to be three types of these protectors. Polyspan, Foam & Cloth. Polyspan seems to be the newest stuff from Adidas anyone speak from experience on the differences?

4. Mouth guard, I have seen the ones from Shock doctor specifically the ones made partially from Gel.

Thanks in advance for your help

Nick

TX_BB

Purple Belt
Reaction score
NickCR,

Going outside your school can wind up damaging relations between you and your instructor is my first point. Second point you'll be wearing this equipment in your instructors school 95% of the time, so wheather it's WTF approved or not your instructor needs to approve it. Last item unless you touch and understand the construction of the gear you won't know how it will protect you.

To answer your questions directly:

1) Look for the WTF seal