Some ask if I.T.F Taekwondo is dying a slow death...

Earl Weiss

Senior Master
Reaction score
Since before any split there were probably more people doing Chang Hon TKD, the system often referred to as "ITF" than those who actualy belonged to the org. As JK points out the split has probably grown the numbers rather than redued them. As he notes, unification is rpobably out of the question. This does not mean that there could not be some cooperation. Some years ago what is oftne referred to as ITF V held a world cup in Orlando where all Chang Honpractitioners could compete. Great idea except with predominently ITF Judges, groups that had been out of the loop fr decades did not score well. I see it as no easy task for similar atempts in the future to face the same issues.

Buka

Sr. Grandmaster
Staff member
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I have no first hand experience with any of this, but from reading the article, especially this part - "And to the casual observer, what has been accomplished has been little more than a few meaningless handshake photo ops, some meetings, and an agreement to stop suing each other."

"Stop suing each other". That ain't good. That's never good. I hope they all work it out and get back to teaching and training.

Instructor

Master of Arts
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I think Tae Kwon Do is a case of a system that is recovering from massive popularity. It's returning to something sane and reasonable again. It's a good thing. I expect their will be some turmoil as the system snaps back into itself.

chrispillertkd

Senior Master
Reaction score
Based on the article, what is your opinion and experience of these current events?

While I think there are several good points in the article (and I largely agree with his analysis of the situation), there are a few things that I disagree with, and one point where he is simply factually in error.