skewed responses in the martial arts

bushidomartialarts

Senior Master
Reaction score
so here's something funny. and i mean funny weird, not funny ha ha.

as a result of some stuff in my life, i've been talking to somebody about my emotional responses of late. something odd turned up in the talking last night.

far as i can tell, i get much madder if somebody yells at me or insults me than if they hit me. i can see how this came about -- as a martial arts instructor i get hit a lot more often than the other.

my education is in psychology, so i can see how classical conditioning would make this true. it just really surprised me when i realized it.

does anybody else have this skewed reaction? or am i completely off my nut?

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score

Well, I have seen it and I haven't... it depends on the circumstances. When someone hits me in class, I don't get mad... I start concentrating harder to cover the opening I got hit through. It's not intended to make me mad or cause an emotional response - it's practice with fighting. My friends all know about my involvement in TKD, and the few that take casual swipes are those who I know and trust well enough not to react.... anybody else... well... it really doesn't come up much.

When people call me names (unless it's a friend who's kidding around) it's usually intended as a negative, and has an emotional context that being hit doesn't have - so I do tend to react more emotionally - but it does still vary with the circumstances.

Still, I can see what you mean - I am more likely, in most situations, to be more upset by words than by being hit.

OP
B

bushidomartialarts

Senior Master
Reaction score
kacey, i get what you're saying but here's the really strange thing.

since i've gotten higher up in the martial arts, i've been struck in anger three times by people who meant to harm or to rile me. that didn't really upset me. i found i was very calm under those circumstances.