Showing It All

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
While reading thru some of the various posts on here, I've noticed some who seem to wonder why our teachers don't show everything to us, why they leave some things 'hidden' rather than just come right out and give us all of the 'secrets.'

Now, IMHO, I'd rather have my teacher make me think for myself, rather than just saying, "Here ya go Mike! I'm showing it all to you so you don't have to do any legwork. I've done it all for you!"

That is part of the journey, especially the Black Belt journey....being able to reach a point, which you think is the end, but realize that there is so much more to learn. I've been training now for 22yrs. and I'm still learning things. Imagine if the learning stopped? Imagine if there was nothing more to do than just sit back and work on what you have, rather than really looking into what you already know, breaking it down further, seeing what else you may have 'missed' but found on your own, without your teacher?

To me, that is much more of a reward, a personal goal, than having someone just hand it to me.

Mike

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
While reading thru some of the various posts on here, I've noticed some who seem to wonder why our teachers don't show everything to us, why they leave some things 'hidden' rather than just come right out and give us all of the 'secrets.'

Now, IMHO, I'd rather have my teacher make me think for myself, rather than just saying, "Here ya go Mike! I'm showing it all to you so you don't have to do any legwork. I've done it all for you!"