Showing honor and repect

TKDmel

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Years ago when I took my first step on the MA path, honor and repect was taught in every class, by word, actions, and example. The teachings my master taught were taken seriously by me and I strive to live up to them each and every day. There in lays the problem. My school is small, but growing and other than the owner, there is only 1 actual paid staff member, the manager. She runs the after school program and will be recieving her BB in a month. Day classes will be starting soon and she will be teaching some of them. My position is, that, if I should attend these classes, should she defer to the higher ranking student out of respect for their rank? In years past there was no question that the highest ranking student should be at least offered the honor to lead or not. I have extensive experience teaching classes and at times would like to lead the class if only to try and pass on by word, example and actions, what I have learned through the years. Am I totally off base here?

searcher

Senior Master
Reaction score
I attend classes on a regular basis that are taught by lower ranking instructors than myself. I will never ask them to defer to me, I feel that it would be wrong of me to expect them to do so. If they ask my advice or for some assistance then I will give it. Otherwise, I am just a student waiting to be taught. If you are wanting to teach some of these classes then you should make them aware of your interest and start teaching.

The Kidd

Purple Belt
Reaction score
We all can learn, when you take a class you are the student. This will help out her (because she can be intimidated that you are in the class) and be an example for the other students. If she asks for help or your opinion by all means help but only if asked, if this will be hard for you to do dont go to the class.

OP
TKDmel

TKDmel

Blue Belt
Reaction score