Should I pick up another art for SD?

Decker

Green Belt
Reaction score
I'm in a dilemma regarding what I should do since I quit taekwondo (Kukkiwon style) after I graduated from my high-school equivalent.

My primary objective for learning martial arts is self-defense.

So far, my repertoire consists of very basic moves like the front, side and roundhouse from taekwondo, the basic jab, cross, hook, uppercut and elbow from military basic close combat training. I also have a smattering of other basic techniques from various sources. I practise these moves often, but my kicks are way better than my hand strikes. I know near zero grappling.

My question is, should I learn a dedicated SD art like krav maga, kapap or even (actually, preferably) wing chun, or would it suffice for me to polish what I have?

When I go to university, clubs available there that I'm interested in are aikido, ITF-style TKD and shito-ryu karate. Krav maga, kapap or wing chun would have to be learnt externally (and more expensively).

(I intend to eventually learn chen style taichi, and hopefully continue it indefinitely, for other reasons. I also learn kenjutsu.)

Thank you all for the advice.

Sandstorm

Green Belt
Reaction score
Personally, I would give them all a go. It's not the style, but the instructor you should really be seeking. Sometimes, the art advertised has it's strict syllabus for gradings etc, but it also has a self defence element. You can't go wrong with any system that teaches body mechanics. IMO, it's a crucial part of MA, being able to fully understand and appreciate how the body works overall so you can then begin to work the various techniques of manipulation that follow.

Good luck with your path.

jarrod

Senior Master
Reaction score
i definately wouldn't rely on polishing what i already have. training without instructor supervision will most likely ingrain bad habits. plus you have to train with live bodies to get a feel for how to apply the techniques.

jf

harold