Shotokan practitioners?

JasonASmith

Black Belt
Reaction score
Hello All,
I was just wondering how many Shotokan people there are here.
How long have you been studying?
Who is your Sensei?
What's your lineage?
Why did you start Shotokan?
And finally:
What are your thoughts on Shotokan?
Thanks in advance for any replies...

oldnewbie

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I studied shotokan for three years, prior to my sensei stepping down. No great lineage or affiliations, just hard training.

I started in shotokan like so many people ... it was what I chose.
I didn't know of all the different styles of MA out there.
I found the style fit me well. I like the low stances and the "blow through your opponent" mentality.
I found Kata to be the most enjoyable feature, it stills my mind.

Although I do not study it now, I would be happy to discuss the art!

karateka

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
ıve been goıng shotokan for a whıle now and ı chose ıt as my martıal art because ı found that ıts teachıngs suıted me. ı enjoy shotokans explosıve power at the very last moment and ı enjoy thats ıts much more of a one hıt fıght that grapplıes and throws and swıngs. ıt ıs very dırect and sımple there are so fancy flıps or jumps and ı fınd that thıs ıs both elegant and practıcal agaınst nonmartıasl artısts and martıal artısts. we learn to attack wıth out entıre body and these teachıngs are really what ı thınk got me to traın shotokan as my prımary martıal art.

stone_dragone

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Both schools that I have studied karate at wer heavily influenced by shotokan. The second school taught primarily shotokan under a different name. The majority of the kata that I know are shotokan kata. I appreciate it for its stong stances and power.

Lineage: Itosu > Funakoshi > Nishiyama > Baize > Kellet > Me.

Inbetween Baize and Kellet, the style started changing names, so that it was mostly shotokan, but not all.

OP
JasonASmith

JasonASmith

Black Belt
Reaction score