Shoshin ryu jujutsu?

Mr. President

Green Belt
Reaction score
So I came across this Uchi Deshi program in the states that teaches Eishin ryu and Shoshin ryu. I understand that Shoshinryu is some sort of an American twist on Danzanryu. Can anyone expand on that? Is it another standard unarmed style of modern jujutsu?

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
If you have the money and time, it might be an interesting experience. If it's the website I've been looking at, it claims history to Japan. I can't say beyond what they say; we do have a few members who may well have better information on the style.

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I have no knowledge of the system even after reading their web page.
all I can say is they have instructors that look like they are doing judo,and jujutsu from the video's.
no real information on how long their instructors have studied what arts is given

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
So I came across this Uchi Deshi program in the states that teaches Eishin ryu and Shoshin ryu. I understand that Shoshinryu is some sort of an American twist on Danzanryu. Can anyone expand on that? Is it another standard unarmed style of modern jujutsu?

I'm not really sure that the highlighted part makes any sense at all, since Danzan Ryu was founded in Hawaii... How do you apply an American twist to an already American art?

I also find the idea of paying someone $7000 to allow me to come work for them a bit... odd.
I've seen this in the dive world a lot, too. Dive shops offer Divemaster "internships" where you pay them a chunk of cash to come work in the shop.

OP
M

Mr. President

Green Belt
Reaction score
I'm not really sure that the highlighted part makes any sense at all, since Danzan Ryu was founded in Hawaii... How do you apply an American twist to an already American art?