Responsibility of a Martial Artist

Grenadier

Sr. Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
ATTENTION ALL USERS:

Please, keep the conversation polite and respectful.

-Ronald Shin
-MT Supermoderator

kingkong89

Green Belt
Reaction score
as a martial artist i dont think it is my duty to step into others confrontations but i do believe that it is my duty to help those who cannot help themselves hich.

hogstooth

Green Belt
Reaction score
I don't think that you have a responsibilty as a MA to act on the behalf of others. But as I teach my daughter, you should lend a hand when a hand is needed and help your fellow man. That is not to mean that if the attacker has a gun you should try a Jackie Chan move and try to take it. You have to use common sense. But today most people have cell phones and can call the police.
I hate to say it but with all of the lawyers in this country looking to make a name for themselves, you may pay for that minute of bravado for the rest of your life. Fair or not, often times the criminal has more rights than the average citizen. In fact your MA skills can be used against you. Never the less I believe or would like to believe that if the situation presented itself I would come to the aid of a person in need dispite the consequences.

Chitmunk

Yellow Belt
Reaction score