Private lessons

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I have been studying Kenpo now for about 4 years. I study in a 16 Technique system under a 5th degree student of Huk Planas'. During this time, I have attended regular group classes, and several seminars, but never a private lesson. I am currently a 2nd degree brown, about halfway through curriculum toward my next test. Today, my wife gave me a gift certificate for 5 private lessons with my instructor.

Question: What suggestions do you have for the focus of these private lessons? or What might you concentrate on in private lessons with someone at this stage of development?

Goldendragon7

Grandmaster
Reaction score
michaeledward said:
My wife gave me a gift certificate for 5 private lessons with my instructor.

Question: What suggestions do you have for the focus of these private lessons? or What might you concentrate on in private lessons with someone at this stage of development?
Are the private lessons with Your personal Instructor or Huk?

If they are with your personal instructor..... he/she may have a say in just what you are allowed to go over, or what you may need most help with.

On the other hand, they are your private lessons..... what would YOU like to go over since you now have his/her personal and private attention to go over anything that pertains ONLY to you and your development, or answer questions that you may not have had time to go over or ask in group classes.

I have had many private lessons with several different instructors and the material covered ranged from technique or form questions, to weapons, to breaking to well, soup to nuts.....LOL so ask away ... it is YOUR TIME!!

:asian:

OP
M

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score
The privates will not be with Huk. (Which, I think, at this point, is good; I'm not sure I could handle it). My lessons with be with Mike Hogan.

Thank you for your thoughts.

Goldendragon7

Grandmaster
Reaction score
michaeledward said: