Practice in San Francisco

sok

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi,

I watched Birth of the Dragon last night, and it's reminding me I'd like to get back into martial arts.

I've studied some, albeit briefly, including JKD, karate, wing chun, and Japanese jujitsu. I am looking for something like aikido, with more of a kung-fu twist.

I like Shaolin kung fu, and took some classes in that, however, it was more exercise than martial arts. I really enjoyed the movements and the history. I also had one class on bagua. I liked that too, however, I don't think there's a group here in SF.

While I am still learning, I think I'd like to know a mix of what I know are internal and external martial arts. I heard that there used to be people who practice in "the panhandle". however, I didn't find anything. I like the idea of people practicing together, not necessarily a school.

I have been to a few schools though, just to try them out. 3 so far - shaolin (mostly kids though), wing chun, and the one bagua lesson. Bagua was the best, but as I recall, they're a bit far.

Also, I am almost 47, so I don't want anything too rough, nor too light.

Does anyone know of any groups or schools that would be a good fit?

yak sao

Senior Master
Reaction score
Check out Bay Mountain Wing Tsun. They teach Wing tsun, obviously, but also Escrima.
The head instructor, Simon Mayer is a great instructor and a very good person as well.

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score
Off topic but is that film any good? Obviously most of it's fake but as a movie? I've heard a lot of people give it crap because the main character is a white guy but I don't care about all that only if it's a good movie

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hi,

I watched Birth of the Dragon last night, and it's reminding me I'd like to get back into martial arts.

I've studied some, albeit briefly, including JKD, karate, wing chun, and Japanese jujitsu. I am looking for something like aikido, with more of a kung-fu twist.