Pool Training

scottcatchot

Green Belt
Reaction score
This weekend I was playing around in the pool and I started practicing my kicks underwater as I have on occasion in the past. I was thinking of making this more of a routine. I was wondering if anyone has done this and could share any benefits I might actually gain from this. I know that it provides some resistance to my movement and might increase speed etc. I have not heard of any benefits from this other than it stands to reason that there would be some. ANyone have any experience with this type of training?

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
It's a really cool idea!

There are a couple of thougths on this thread as well, as my teacher recently brought up doing stickwork in water.

I got very interested in Silat after some friends invited me to a pool party. When we were swimming, one of my friends asked if he could show me a few Silat moves in the pool because the takedowns were safer doing them in water. After being the recipient once...I was hooked.

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Another thing to practice in the pool is getting around a partner for a rear naked choke. Definately a very useful skill in the water.
icon14.gif

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Another thing to practice in the pool is getting around a partner for a rear naked choke. Definately a very useful skill in the water.
icon14.gif

Excellent idea Brian! :asian: Personally I never thought of training from the angle of having to defend yourself in water. Great suggestion!

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
:uhohh: I'm not sure if I want you to elaborate on that one! ;)

It's a ground fighting move, a way to defend against someone choking you from behind. Rear = attacking from behind, naked = vulnerable, hence the rear naked choke.

Here's what the starting position could look like:

fig3-36.gif

crushing