Pinan Shodan

D

DKI Girl

I would like to open a discussion on Pinan Shodan.....

Do you teach it?
At what level do you teach it?

I have seen many styles not teach this kata til after black belt and many other styles teach it in the begining. We teach it as the second kata that our students learn right after Naihanchi Shodan.

I really enjoy the Pinan katas and feel that there is a wealth of information in them just waiting to be discovered.

dki girl

Matt Stone

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I learned a form called Heian Shodan once upon a time... Aren't the Heian and Pinan forms the same, just named differently?

If that is the case, I can't fathom a system that would hold such a simple and basic form (I know that comment could get me in trouble - I know there are plenty of applications in even the simplest forms, but c'mon... :idunno: ) until black belt level...

Enlighten me, please... I am only a novice in karate, so a lot of this stuff is new to me.

Gambarimasu.

Cthulhu

Senior Master
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Pinan and Heian are indeed pretty much the same kata, though there are differences specific to the various styles that train them. I first learned the version taught in TKD (no longer taught, though). I believe the Korean name for the form is Pyung An.

Anyhow, the Shodan doesn't refer to the rank at which the kata is taught...it indicates the first Pinan form. There are five Pinan/Heian forms, named shodan, nidan, sandan, yodan, and godan. Essentially, it just means Pinan/Heian 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5. There may be some deep symbolic meaning to the names, but I was never made aware of them.

Similarly, there are the Naihanchi/Tekki forms, shodan, nidan, and sandan. At least, I'm pretty sure there are three.

Cthulhu

OP
R

RyuShiKan

Originally posted by DKI Girl

I would like to open a discussion on Pinan Shodan.....

Do you teach it?
At what level do you teach it?

Yup, we teach it.