Peer Review

fangjian

Black Belt
Reaction score
So last time I mentioned peer review I was talking about 'techniques/methods'. This time I'm talking about the art itself.

I was compelled for some reason recently to check out the ninjutsu are of MT. I looked at a few threads and had a hard time recognizing what information was factual and what was not. In CMA and FMA, I can generally figure out what's what. But everything else, that I don't have a background in, forget it. I can't tell which posters to trust.

I took a 'Geography of China' course one time and my research paper was, you guessed it :) , 'The Geographical Evolution of Wushu'. It was a lot of fun. Back then though, I wasn't aware of the multitude of academic journals that were available to me, so I was thinking about re writing the paper for fun. I'm currently a student at UMass and was thinking about side tracking a little bit from my studies to tackle that old paper.

There are a lot of great books out there with factual information and there's also a lot of fiction. I was thinking it would be great if there was a website that I could go to where I could read trusted material on the history/evolution/etc. of martial arts styles. Where someone could do the research in a specific area and that paper could be objectively reviewed by other experts in that field.

I remember researching White Crane style for a bit for my paper back in the day. The only information that I could find at the time was " White crane kung fu came from Fujian province because 'there are a lot of cranes there' ". I swear that is what all the websites and books I could find, said.

What I want to hear from you is:
Is this already done?
Is this a good/bad idea?

I'm thinking it's a good idea but there is so much bias out there. I would suspect that even well known and great teachers who are considered experts in their field, are spreading disinformation about their style that may not be true.