Okay Fellas

Kaygee

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Every time I have reached out to this community with a question, I have always received great support from everyone.....so I am here to ask for it one more time:

To give you some background, I studied Tang Soo Do for 2 1/2 years and quit a couple of weeks ago because:
The training became stale and boring
I was doing forms just to do forms....the actual practicality was never explained to me.
The school's student base dropped from roughly 80 to 20.
I am 38 years old and I was in class with all 13-15 year old kids.
The only adult classes available were Mon, Thu and Sat afternoon.

These are just some of the reasons. For the full story, please see the 100 page thread in the General Martial Arts forums, created by yours truly, titled "How Do I Quit?"

Anyway, I wanted to start studying MMA. So I did the same thing I did when I chose my Tang Soo Do school. I went around from school to school for weeks on end, watching classes and participating in classes. Now, I have nailed my decision down to two schools. They both have their pros and cons, but, if I may, I would like to ask other adults, with families and full time jobs, their opinion on these two schools and which one they would choose.....yes I know, in the end, it is my choice, but I need some advice here.

Ready?

School #1:
Has BJJ and MMA classes:
Monday from 7:30 - 9:30
Tuesday from 6:30 - 8:30
Thursday from 7:00 - 9:00
Saturday from 11:30 - 1:00

They also offer "fitness" classes: (which I do not know much about)
Monday from 6:45 - 7:30
Thursday from 6:15 - 7:00
Saturday from 10:00 - 10:30
(this one would never work for me if you notice the one hour layover from the BJJ/MMA class on this day)

The monthly fee is $120 and there are no contracts.