Ninjutsu vs. Budo Taijutsu?

Hudson69

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Hola all,
I just read a response under the recent thread about Shihan Van Donk. In it the scribe says that Shihan Van Donk is a 10th degree Ninjutsu black belt and a 14th degree Taijutsu black belt.

What I am getting to is this: Is there a difference between ninjutsu and budo taijutsu or is it just a name change. I am asking this because in the last dojo I studied Budo Taijutsu at the instructor (a talented Nidan) said that Budo Taijutsu was only the physical skills (H2H and related, and weapons) and did not cover the entirety of the 18 skills of the Bujinkan that included field craft, stealth, and the other skills traditionally associated with the "ninja."

Based off of what my former instructor said and this response in the other thread is there a difference between Ninjutsu and Budo Taijutsu, can you still study "Ninjutsu" as opposed to Budo Taijutsu? I am really curious because if that is the case I would like to find a "Ninjutsu" instructor since the last time I studied it it really helped me in my field training and instruction (believe it or not) with the Army and Air Force.

On another note how is it in the Jinenkan and Genbukan, do they teach the field skills (non-combat) and how is it done? I understand that Genbukan calls it ninpo and they have a jutaijutsu/jujutsu program alongside their taijutsu/ninpo progression program (I think)?

Thanks much.

Chris Parker

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hi Hudson69,

Okay, this may get a little complicated, so bear with me here.