Nice block! Thanks! What block?

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Just thought I'd throw this out there. I'm far from an expert, and oh my, am I slow when it comes to sparring. But more than a couple times lately, I have apparently performed a block that has either been very effective or has actually damaged my sparring partner (recent example, I dropped an elbow on an incoming side kick and damaged my partner's big toe). The odd thing is, I either don't recall doing the block specifically, or it seemed like an accident that my arm happened to be in the right place at the right time. In several cases, after being told I had blocked something well, I actually thought to myself "What block? I didn't block anything?" And yet, I am assured by observers that I did. It certainly seems as though the blocks I'm thinking about have less effectiveness than the ones that appear to be sneaking up on me and throwing themselves without me noticing. Anyone else have this experience? Just curious. Perhaps I'm not really blocking, but Inspector Clouseau-ing.

lklawson

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Pretty cool, ain't it? :)

It's gotten into your automatic responses. Your conscious mind is busy doing stuff that it thinks are important to the sparring and your subconscious is buys doing stuff that it's been trained to do over many long and arduous hours.

It's a cool benny.

...usually...

Peace favor your sword,
Kirk

WC_lun

Senior Master
Reaction score
This the goal of martial arts, to get the mechanics into your muscle memory. It frees up the mind to see more, and quickens the response to an opponent because the process is more stream lined. All good stuff. However, if you are just Inspector Clouseau-ing it, its still getting the job done and that is what you want, so don't worry yourself :)

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
Do this stuff long enough and it happens... and it is always cool