newbie help!

behindshades

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello Wing Chun practitioners,

I'm a former student of the Yang Style of Tai Chi and have lost interest in the art of Tai chi, so, after being introduced to Wing Chun, I decided to look into taking Wing Chun. I've been taking wing chun now for about two weeks and my questions are:

1) in SLT, the first form, when the toes are bent in, how neccesary is it to bend, and how far should we bend down?
2) i know its only been about two weeks, but i dont feel like there's really any type of improvement, so when does it all come together? when do i learn to develop punching power?
3) how does wing chun teach its practictioners to control or deal with fear? at my school, the instructors and sifu said that they don't do sparring, so if we dont spar how do we know how well our techniques have developed?
4) and lastly, does anyone here know about Eddie Chong's Wing Chun in sacramento? is that a good school or is he a good instructor?

thanks a million!!!
Tim.

CRCAVirginia

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Just wondering why you don't ask your teacher these questions? You will take the information from complete strangers to your teacher? If he/she won't or can't answer your questions...

The same with choosing a school to train at, go and check it out yourself...

bully

Purple Belt
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I wouldn't go to a school that doesn't do sparring.

mook jong man

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hello Wing Chun practitioners,

I'm a former student of the Yang Style of Tai Chi and have lost interest in the art of Tai chi, so, after being introduced to Wing Chun, I decided to look into taking Wing Chun. I've been taking wing chun now for about two weeks and my questions are:

1) in SLT, the first form, when the toes are bent in, how neccesary is it to bend, and how far should we bend down?