New Member From FL - Getting Back Into MA

TH420X

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello all,

My name is Todd and I am from Lakeland, FL (Tampa Bay Area). Over the years I have studied Karate, Kung Fu, and Aikido, but nothing for any length of time; basically, I'm a noob. I am presently checking out various school in my area to decide where I want to train.

My choices, in the area I live, are Karate, Kung Fu, Aikido, BJJ, MMA, Krav Maga, Tae Kwon Do, and Tai Chi (kinda). I believe my decision will be to train in Wing Chun Kung Fu. I enjoy the flowing style of Kung Fu, as well as the traditionalism and history that goes along with it. My goal is not to train for a UFC cage match or to even compete in tournaments; my goal, rather, is to regain the flexibility and strength I once had as well as to tone my body and maintain my weight (getting older - 33) while also learning a useful skill that I could employ should the need ever arise. As time goes by (years), I would also like to learn some Tai Chi.

Well, that's about it for me. I would like to say thank you for all of the useful information contained in this site and contributed by everyone.

-Todd

Yondanchris

Master Black Belt
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Welcome to MT. Those are great reasons to start training in MA. Keep in touch and let us know how you are enjoying Wing Chun

Chris

OP
TH420X

TH420X

White Belt
Reaction score
What I meant by "kinda" is that there is a guy who teaches it one Saturday a month, for an hour, in the park, for free. Not really something I could study to become proficient in due to only having 12 hours of training per year.