Need Some Advice on Sparring

bugatabugata

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hi guys,

Long term lurker/relative newbie here -- have been busting my behind at taekwondo (both literally and figuratively) for about a year now. My issue is that my favorite part of practice is sparring (it's just pure adrenaline-fueled fun!); but, because the school I attend is small and more on the family-friendly side (i.e. a bunch of kids at the advanced classes), we spar a couple of times a month, if that, and when we do, it's no-contact.

I adore and respect the sabum, and have absolutely no desire to switch schools, as long as he keeps teaching there, but I'd really like to test myself against somebody that's in the same age/weight/sex/skill set and, well, do some actual "contact" sparring. Any advice on how to bring this up to the Master, without sounding like an overly-confident, violent tool? Is there anything else I could do, short of picking fights at bars :wink1:?

Thank you for your help and advice!

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Why not look around your area for open tounaments? Or talk to other members of your school and see if they would like to do some extra training.

ralphmcpherson

Senior Master
Reaction score
Are there any students at your school that meet the criteria you are looking for? If so, do some full contact stuff with them after or before class, that way you will get your fix and your instructor may get the hint that you are looking for more in the sparring department. I had the exact problem in my original class, I moved to another class (same club) and now train with heaps of guys my age, most are higher rank, and I get to spar heaps of different people who can all kick my ***.

puunui

Senior Master
Reaction score