Need some advice on rolling/sparring...

paco99

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello. I'm fairly new to BJJ. I just started a couple months ago, and I'm finally starting to have a vision of a clue when sparring/rolling. I'm finding myself very winded after rolling for 3-4 minutes. Is this normal? The other guys seem to be able to continue. I'm wondering what I can do to preserve my breath.

I'm in fairly decent shape cardio wise, so I think I'm just doing something wrong. I run 3 miles 3 times a week without stopping at a decent pace, so I'm in ok shape. but, when rolling, i'm exhausted after a few minutes.

Thanks,

Paco

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
With time, and more rolling, you should see that your cardio will improve. Keep this in mind...while you are doing cardio, rolling is very different from running. You're using different muscles, in addition to having to deal with the weight of someone on you. Roll for a few minutes, get winded, and now you have someone mounted on you, sidemounted on you....it'll take a toll on your breathing.

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Rolling/wrestling is a very anaerobic exercise; running is only a starting point for your conditioning. You'll develop more stamina as you train more, and you can find and learn different training exercises if you look around, as well.

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hello. I'm fairly new to BJJ. I just started a couple months ago, and I'm finally starting to have a vision of a clue when sparring/rolling. I'm finding myself very winded after rolling for 3-4 minutes. Is this normal? The other guys seem to be able to continue. I'm wondering what I can do to preserve my breath.

Relax.

Easy to say, but harder to do.