Mantis Kung Fu

7starmantis

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Is there anyone else here that studies the Mantis System. Not just northern but southern styles as well? If so, what specific Style do you study and how long have you been studying it?

I'm just curious, I can't seem to find anyone here that has studied this style.

7sm

T

TLH3rdDan

hi there, yeah i have studied some mantis styles not for an extended time period unfortunately... lets see first there was a brief encounter with roger haygood who taught a rare form of i believe it was a northern style of mantis cant remember the exact name, that only lasted a month, which was not a pleasant expierence and i feel like he is more of a con artist and mad man than a martial artist... then i studied for a couple of months with a group that was doing a mix of mantis styles which included... 7 star, tai mantis, and northern and southern mantis, unfortuantely they closed their doors due to the fact they could not afford to keep the place open anymore other wise id probably still be there... then recently ive been working with a wah lum pai school...

OP
7starmantis

7starmantis

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Thats to bad about the "con-artist" guy, its them who give MA in general a bad name! wah lum pai is a great system, good luck with it.

7sm

T

TLH3rdDan

for the link i couldnt remember if i had posted what region it was or not and was too tired last night to search lol... but anyway dont want to steer this thread in that direction... so 7star im assuming that you study 7 star mantis... have you tried any other mantis styles?

OP
7starmantis

7starmantis

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Originally posted by TLH3rdDan

for the link i couldnt remember if i had posted what region it was or not and was too tired last night to search lol... but anyway dont want to steer this thread in that direction... so 7star im assuming that you study 7 star mantis... have you tried any other mantis styles?