Loyalty

Aniela13

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hey all...there may be a thread on this that I haven't found, so forgive me if I missed one!

I trained for 12 years in EPAK and earned a 1st degree black belt before leaving for college (where the nearest Kenpo school is 3 hours away); this year I have begun training at a Cha San Ryu dojo near my school (after taking a 2-year hiatus from MA), and while I love it, a few questions are bothering me.

Stylistically, some things are very different--I am an American-trained martial artist learning a Japanese system, so I expected this. For instance, at my last test I broke a board (which we never did at home), and I have learned a "forward stance" as opposed to a "guard/fighting stance" (which we didn't even differentiate at home). These things I have accepted, because I'm certainly not going to go into someone's dojo and ask them to train me, then turn around and tell them they're doing it wrong.

I suppose my issue arises with little things--this morning I realized that my gear bag (which I have been using for 14 years) is starting to wear thin with some holes, but part of me is loathe to purchase one from my new school. My instructors here allow me (and want me) to continue wearing my Kenpo black belt, and once in a while Sensei will ask me how I was taught to do something before--in all, I have absolutely no complaints about my new school. I suppose therein lies the problem.

Is it disloyal to my first instructors and first system to "convert" wholeheartedly to my new dojo and its way of doing things? I absolutely love Cha San Ryu and the people I get to be with through my studies of it, but is it wrong to unswervingly adopt their way of standing/training/fighting? I feel like there should be a better way to express this question, but hopefully you guys will know what I mean....

Thanks!
~Ani

Shinobi Teikiatsu

Green Belt
Reaction score