Looking for a 'power' martial art

MattofSilat

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hey there everyone.

I haven't posted for a few weeks, but I'm still here. I'm still studying this 'new eclectic' style of Jujitsu which seems to combine Traditional Jujitsu, Judo and Aikido. Regardless of what it is, the fact remains that we don't train in any actual striking. We do Locks, Throws, Takedowns, etc, but no strikes. Actually, on that note, does your school/sensei teach techniques as individual techniques? We train techniques by our sensei telling us a combo to use, and I think that training in individual techniques would be more beneficial before going into combinations/we could make the combinations ourselves.

Anyway, back to the question at hand. I'd like a martial art that revolves more around power. No real reason, I'd just like to hit something/be able to hit something properly instead of waiting a few seconds for them to attack so I can counter.
Of these, I can only really learn Karate (Shotokan and Enshin) and Boxing. Boxing sounds very appealing to me, but I've got my own reasons for wanting to try karate.

One question. Does karate have a lot of techniques which aren't basic strikes (Punch, Kick, Elbow, Knee). I don't mean 'Flying Scissor Kicks', I mean actual techniques.

I know this is sort-of fantasy from an anime, but: Mutenkendoku-Style Karate - History's Strongest Disciple Kenichi Wiki

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
See. It still revolves around strikes, but uses them in more than a simple strike fashion. Is karate actually like this?

Thanks.

drop bear

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Last edited:

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Both Enshin and Shotokan karate are hard systems, which means that they'll have a lot of power in their striking. Karate generally includes several hand techniques including elbows, sword hands, and so on. Beyond that -- I'm not sure what you mean by "techniques that aren't basic."