Kung Fu San Soo

Toasty

Green Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
Looking for information from anyone who has trained in this style. I have an opportunity to train with an instructor who learned directly from Jimmy Woo Sifu.
Pros/cons welcome as i am not familiar with this particular art, however from what i can tell from the the various web sites, it kinda looks like Kenpo.

thanks in advance
Rob

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Originally posted by Toasty
Looking for information from anyone who has trained in this style. I have an opportunity to train with an instructor who learned directly from Jimmy Woo Sifu.

Mr. Woo (d. 1991) was certainly well known. I never met him but did see Ron Van Browning in motion at an arnis camp. He's something to see--he hits fast and hard. (Mr. Hartman will surely remember.) The martial art of San Soo (also San Shou) is supposed to be a very effective system but I have little direct knowledge of it.

OP
T

Toasty

Green Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
Thanks for the reply/info. Although i am pretty sure that Sanshou is completely different.

Rob

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Originally posted by Toasty
i am pretty sure that Sanshou is completely different.

You are correct; I had thought they were both transliterations of the same term. (Perhaps they are and san soo is typically used in one context, san shou in the other--I don't know.) San show is a military-derived kickboxing sport.

C

Chiduce