KUK SOOL WON, hard of soft style?

amishman

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Would [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]KUK SOOL WON be considered a hard or soft style of martial arts.

Tom
[/FONT]

I searched further. Appears to be hard and soft from what other web sites show. I guess I answered my own question. <grin>

shesulsa

Columbia Martial Arts Academy
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
From what I can see, it appears to be both hard and soft, as you said - or "dialectic." A combination.

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
On a scale of 100 I would say it is 65% hard and 35% soft this is what I have been told by some that have taken it.

OP
A

amishman

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I guess what has me a bit interested in Kuk Sool Won are the animal techniques present in the system. I am more of a Kung Fu guy and 20+ years ago I studied some Kung Fu. I have always liked Shaolin style Kung Fu and although Karate is great, I never really liked the super hard stances in everything and prefer a softer style. Unfortunately there are no Shaolin or Kung Fu classes where I live but did stumble across a local Kuk Sool Won class. After reading about them today, and all the different training this martial art has, part hard part soft, and includes animal techniques somewhat like Shaolin does, I figured maybe I should investigate it more.

Are there any Kuk Sool Won folks here? What are your opinions on the style of this martial art. Does it seem like part karate, part kung fu, part korean martial arts?

tom

Hawke

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Kuk Sool Won

UK Demp Team on YouTube:

Last edited by a moderator:

stoneheart

Purple Belt
Reaction score