Knife defence

gerardfoy50

Green Belt
Reaction score
Just started looking at knife fighting skills as a complete newbie to this area, I watched some ww2 USA army training footage on it and found a book on ww2 unarmed combat which had knife fighting, thought I would start their as these guys we’re fighting for their lives in the jungle against the japs so everything would be simple no bull effective techniques as compared to watching modern vids on ytube by guys who don’t know the real world. But as I say I’m a complete newbie so has knife fighting improved, if so what are the best sources to look at

Jared Traveler

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Are you looking for knife defense or how to fight with a knife? Yes, training and knowledge has improved in many areas.

OP
G

gerardfoy50

Green Belt
Reaction score
Are you looking for knife defense or how to fight with a knife? Yes, training and knowledge has improved in many areas.
How to fight with a knife, I think the best defence if you don’t have a knife and they do is to run like hell, if possible

Rich Parsons

A Student of Martial Arts
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
There are some FMA - ( Filipino Martial Arts ) systems that concentrate on the blade, and some that have it as part of their complete overall system.

There is an Italian Stiletto type knife system

Keating is a US Knife instructor and does Bowie and other knives.

What is your location? - If not wanted to be shared here or in message, then search for Keating, Bowie, FMA, Italian knife , ...
Your location would provide others the assistance to find or recommend an instructor in your area.

Holmejr

Black Belt
Reaction score
First thought: flee
If that doesn’t work, One word: control