Is this for friggin real?!

granfire

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
A general rant.
I give you a cookie if you read til the end...

Aight;
Kid is in band. Marching first year.

Sooooo
the fun begins.

FYI: a score (and parts) for a band costs at bare minimum 100 bucks.
There are a few instruments the school provides: A Sousaphone costs 6 grand....

Now, the band has to pay for transportation for away games. 1k

BUT: they have to raise their dough the hard way. They do get a concession stand, but it's on the visitor side....

A local church (God bless them) had offered the use of their bus for the band, at no charge....Football coach complained...the band can't ride in an air conditioned buss when the ball players ride on a school bus...(Personally I would have flipped him a bird...but I am new to this game of politics)

Did I mention that you need the jaws of life to pry the wallets of my neighbors open?

Oh...
Football is an extra curricular activity, same as cheer leading...you can get kicked off the team for not pulling your weight...Band is a class, so you can't kick dead beats out!

If I was not already gray, I would surely sprout some now...I might rop my hair out before it's all said and done!

End of rant.
back to my Miller Highlife
(no. it's not good, but after 6 hours in the heat, it was the best beer I ever had)

Two years ago, the school district sent home a letter stating that they did not have the money for the eighth grade graduation ceremony. (yes, 8th, dumb, but a HUGE deal here) I live 5 blocks, in a small town, from the stadium, were EVERY Friday night there were fireworks during Football games. Gee, maybe that money could be better spent...

Gran, you need better taste in beer...

T

Gran, you need better taste in beer...

I have better taste...but 3000 miles for a beer run is a bit too long...

No, seriously! After spending 7 hours in front of Walmart today...that first Highlife was GOOD! ^_^