Is Tae Kwon Do a Collage Sport?

C

Cobra

I know that Judo is a collage sport but is Tae Kwon Do one as well?

Miles

Senior Master
Reaction score
Yes, Taekwondo is a college sport-there is the National Collegiate Taekwondo Association (NCTA) which administers the sport.

Miles

Kane

Black Belt
Reaction score
Yes it is a college sport. Contrary to popular belief martial arts have quite a big place in college sports.

OP
X

XxTKDPenguinxX

Does anyone know of any major collages that has TKD as a sport?
I am currently studying for my Bachlor's degree in Physical Education. My goal is to bring TKD to a higher level than collage.... or should I say lower level? My hope is to one day bring TKD to a high school level. It may be in certain areas of the country now but, there are none anywhere around here within a 100 mile radius. It would be interesting to study the cirriculum of schools vs. dojangs.

OP
R

rcw23

A few years ago Cornell, Harvard, UPenn, Princeton, Columbia, MIT, West Point, Penn State, Temple, Howard, University of Iowa, Berkely, Ithaca College, Rutgers, University of Buffalo and several other schools all had programs that participated in intercollegiate competitions and/or collegiate nationals (there might be a link regarding collegiate nationals on the USTU website, I think there used to be). Most of those programs were large and run by full time masters, so they are probably still around.

MichiganTKD

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Many Universities offer Tae Kwon Do classes as part of their curriculum, including two near me (University of Michigan, Eatern Michigan University). Unfortunately, many of these courses are watered down versions of TKD, filled with students just looking for a phys ed credit or two. The two above are no exception. You are better off not wasting your time with them.