Cross training in other martial arts.

Rabbitthekitten

Blue Belt
Reaction score
What are the views on this for beginners. I just started learning taekwondo but because of my work schedule there will be a two week block every eight weeks where I won't be able to attend classes.

There are local Judo and Japanese Jiu Jitsu clubs where I could attend. Would this be a bad idea or are they sufficiently different not to interfere? Or should I just go down the gym instead? I'd keep my main focus on taekwondo, it's just something to do when I can't attend.

Any thoughts?

Gerry Seymour

MT Moderator
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
My thought on this is that it's fine, but don't pick something similar, but also not something that takes a very different approach. For instance, I'd suggest someone start one type of Karate would find it difficult to pick up a second type of Karate at the same time, but might find it useful (and not terribly more difficult) to pick up wrestling or Judo alongside their primary art.

At the same time, someone starting out in Shotokan might find it confusing to also start in Ueshiba's Aikido, since one uses more angular movement and the other more circular movement. You'd have both instructors telling you all the time what the "right" and "wrong" movements are, and they'd be telling you fairly different stories (and they'd both be right). The clashing principles can create a lot of confusion.