I'm in need for some advice.

dominate_warrior

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hello, fellow Martial Artists!

I'm a beginner martial artist in taekwondo. I would like some feed back for good strength training exercises and stretching techniques that have helped you all improve your skill.

I don't want to become a very buff human being because that look doesn't seem right on a girls body. But I would like to become lean and quick. I am almost 5'5 about 120 Female, so nothing too difficult but challenging at the same time.

Like I said, I am new to this community, and to martial arts, but I'm tough (or at least that's what I am described as)

But please, I am up to do everything I possibly can to make myself better. I have finally found something enjoyable and exciting that I am actually good at. So daily/weekly workout options, etc. everything a person in the martial arts should know!

Thanks You!:D

Kung Fu Wang

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
good strength training exercises
Static stretch:

kung_fu_stretch.jpg

stretch.jpg

dynamic stretch:

stretch1.jpg

stretch2.jpg

OP
dominate_warrior

dominate_warrior

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I cannot open those pictures you said on the thread...I am on an iPad

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Unless you're planning to be a professional full contact fighter, I don't generally advocate a lot of heavy weight training. Body weight exercises and cardio are probably the most useful the "typical" martial artist.

As far as flexibility, stretch every day. Every day. No excuses.
The areas most people have the most difficulty with are the hips and lower back.
There are countless YouTube videos showing various stretches, and frankly that's a lot better than trying to describe them.
There are some general guidelines for stretching, however.
Stretching should be done at the end of your workout. Warm muscles stretch. Cold muscles tear.