I taught myself a form today...

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Yup. I sat down with a book and a video and learned a form. I've never done that before, but I didn't have many other options. I like Tang Soo Do, but I've begun to have a very different take on the art and I haven't found any teachers out here who share my view of it. Thus, if I'm going to learn any of the advanced forms, without making a switch to another art, I'm left with self learning.

What does every one think? Would you ever teach yourself a form? If so, under what circumstances? If not, why not?

crushing

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I'm not ready to teach myself a form. I don't always keep all my required forms straight right now. Maybe later in my journey.

OP
Makalakumu

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I'm not ready to teach myself a form. I don't always keep all my required forms straight right now. Maybe later in my journey.

Do you practice TSD? Not that it matters, your opinions is welcome regardless. I was just wondering because I thought I knew all of the Tangsoodoin on this board.

In regards to the question, I think experience matters a lot. I wouldn't teach myself a form if I was just starting out. It helps that I've been practicing TSD for a long time.

crushing

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I need to pay better attention to the forum I'm in. I practice TKD. But, I think my organization's TKD is very TSDish.

OP
Makalakumu

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I need to pay better attention to the forum I'm in. I practice TKD. But, I think my organization's TKD is very TSDish.

No worries. TSD and TKD are cousins. I post in the TKD forum all of the time.

terrylamar

Blue Belt
Reaction score