How effective is your martial art?

chrismay101

Green Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone reading this thread!

At the moment I am studying Taekwondo and I love it. Do I think it is an effective martial art maybe no! I think it is a very short sighted martial art that is very dynamic in that watching it in action is very impressive.
but dealing with an attacker who come in close I would be worried.

but the opposite could be said of a grappling martial arts may be not as dynamic and impessive to watch but very effective close up but at distance will strugle.

So What is the most effective martial art?
if im wrong about the above tell me!

If you do decide to post can you explain your art and thoughts.

bluekey88

Senior Master
Reaction score
Y'know...I currently study TKD as well. In the past I've done karate, Wing chun, grappling/wrestling...my first art was Aikido. In other words, I've been around a fair bit.

I'm sure if you cruise these and other MA forums and look through threads like this you'll hear the phrase "It's not the art bu the artist" or something along those lines. That's really your answer.

Put more simply, your art is as effective as you want to make it. It's a simple as that. I recall an anecdote of a particualr high ranking Aikido sensei (not sure who off hand) when told by a lower ranking student that Aikdo wasn't effective and didn't work. The sensei smiled and said "YOUR Aikido doesn't work...mine works just fine."

My training is like that. I work to make what I do as effective for me as possible. That's all I can do. Try not to get too hung up on what's the "best" art and just train...if what you;re doing doesn't work for you...go find something that does. In the end though, the critical factor is you and nothing else.

Peace,
Erik

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score