Holiday Burnout

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I have been training for over forty years and never before Have I had Holiday burn out, I mean I do not wish to be in the Dojang at all. As I sit here this morning, I'm wondering why. Students come in not ready, to involved in shopping not TKD, parents just need a break from them being home so we become more of a babysitter, then instructors.

I know my motto is just train and ask question later so this is the complete opposite of me. I need to find the right answer to the wrong question. I have plenty of instructors to operate the Dojang if I take off, but I like to be involved in every aspect of there training.

So how do you deal with it and what action do you take to resolve a matter like this?
Terry Lee Stoker

MartialIntent

Black Belt
Reaction score
I hear you - I used to teach high school [UK equiv] and often had that exact conversation with myself and close family. You know, this could be fleeting, tomorrow you may be re-encouraged, in which case you might view it as more of an MA equivalent of temporary writers' block. I mean, maybe you do just need a break, we all do - and so we should. You trust your other instructors I'm certain - so let them take the reins for a time. Furthermore, a time away may make students and parents alike appreciate more exactly what you bring to the dojang...

However, if this is more significant than a holiday-blues situation, it's not necessarily a bad thing. Be positive - this may be a signal for you take time and truly consider what you're doing and how you're doing it. To quote the great Talking Heads: "And you may ask yourself, well... how did I get here?"