Hello

RITFencing

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hi, my name is Sean, I'm a professional fencing instructor from the Bay Area, CA. I've been fencing for about 10 years, coaching for 6, and I've just recently started doing so as a full time means of support. I love it; it's always been my life's ambition to not have a real job. :)

I've also done about 2 years of Northen Shaolin Kung Fu, 6 months of Isshin Ryu Karate when I was a boy, and a smattering of other things here and there that I dropped when I either moved, got injured or things started to interfere with my fencing.

I realize that fencing, on a technical level may have very little in common with many eastern martial arts, and I realize that many people don't even consider it a martial art (and if that's the case, please let's both just respect each others' opinions about it; I've gotten into way too many arguments, or more precisely the same argument way too many times) but after talking with different martial artists, kendo people, kenpo people, aikido people, I've found that there are many similarities, especially in the qualities that each activity tries to build and, on an abstract level, the tactics that are used.

I look forward to talking with all of you about things; I'd like to get back into eastern martial arts at some point, but at the moment my wallet and schedule are lacking; even if I could afford it, most places seem to only offer classes when I am working, but hope springs eternal.

I'm also very interested in educational theory; while I don't like a formal training environment, I do feel that there's a lot of good stuff in various teaching systems, and I'm always looking for something to pick up and adapt to my lessons.

Cheers,
Sean

stone_dragone

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Greetings and welcome to MT! I for one agree that fencing has alot in common with asian martial arts.