Hello everyone

satans.barber

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Boo :p

I found the site through a links someone posted in rec.martial-arts, but since the kenpo chat in there is slim to none, this seems like a better option!

I case anyone's vaugely interested in who I am, my name is Ian and I am a Computer Science student at the Universoty of Leeds, in the North of England.

I have been training in Kenpo Ryu Karate for around 5 years now, and am due to grade for black belt in a couple of months. My instructor is Sensei Glen Coolican, 2nd Dan, and the chief instructor of our club (who is based in Devon) is Sensei Phil Cawood, 7th Dan.

Hope to be joining in lots of threads and chatting to you guys, although I suspect I'll be outnumbered by the Americans ;)

Ian Atkinson.

R

RCastillo

That's ok, we're still allies, and have been since W.W.I!:D

Bob Hubbard

Retired
MT Mentor
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
We've gotten a few folks from there who like the atmosphere here a little better. :) Less posts about "seekret govmint conseracys" :D

Welcome. :)

Sigung86

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Hi Ian. Welcome aboard. Many years ago, I used to teach in a little place about 50 miles North of London, Finchingfield/Weathersfield, in Essex.

Plan to get back over there one of these days for a few weeks vacation.

Take care,

Dan Farmer:asian:

K

Kirk

So there'll be the possibility of some cultural learning on this
forum as well. Works for me, I'd love to hear about any
differences in how you train.

OP
satans.barber

satans.barber

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Originally posted by Goldendragon7

To give it it's full name it's Kenpo Ryu Karate Kickboxing (the Ryu is pronounced 'Roo').