Haedong Gumdo in Pittsburgh

seejune

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi all
I am a student in Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh
I am trying to open up a Haedong Gumdo club starting this fall of 2009
unlike kendo or some other martial arts Haedong Gumdo concentrates heavily in forms, which need to be taught
I would like to know if there is any dojo or gym that teaches Haedong Gumdo above 2nd dan(I have 2nd dan and I would like to further my learning as well :))
so anyone with any information pertaining to this I would appreciate it very much

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
All I have to say is welcome and enjoy te site. Oh yea best of luck with the club

MBuzzy

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Most certainly - I am a 1st Dan instructor in Haidong Gumdo. The answer to your question, though depends greatly upon the organization that you aligned with. Which do you belong to?

OP
S

seejune

White Belt
Reaction score
hm..exactly what organization I belong to I am not too sure, as I have not payed much attention to it...
I have learned Ssangsoo gumbup, then Simsang and Yedo gumbup, if that explains anything about the organization that I am aligned with.
I have learned all my gumdo in Korea...maybe it is Daehan Haidong Gumdo Federation since I learned it in Korea? :p
the Dojang that I learned from is registered and can be found in hdgd.org

MBuzzy

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
If you can find the school on HDGD.org, then you are with the World Haidong Gumdo Federation or US Haidong Gumdo Association. As for a school in Pittsburgh, I know that Master Peter Oien is an excellent instructor. You can find his school at http://www.northamericankarateandfitness.com/hdgd/default.asp

If this is too far, let me know and I'll see if I can find another Gumdo school in the area.

OP
S

seejune

White Belt
Reaction score