Greetings, all!

MidnightBlue

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Greetings, all,

I am new to MT, and newly returning to martial arts. I'll try to make my story short:

When I was about 9--I'm turning 27 in a few months--I grew very interested in martial arts. I lived in a suburb of Pittsburgh where there weren't too many martial arts schools at that time. I trained in Ishinyru for a few months at the local American Legion until the instructor suddenly stopped showing up for lessons. Saddened, but with limited options, I did as much research as a child could, reading books on martial arts from the local university library. Then, I visited every martial arts school near me to meet instructors, ask questions, and observe. I joined a Tang Soo Do school at that time and loved it! While there, I trained on weekends in Hapkido, Aikido, and Jujitsu, thrilled that I was learning how to use various holds effectively even though I was tiny. I trained for about two years at that school until that school had to close because of a highway expansion project that took the building. That instructor moved away to start a new career, so a few months later, I joined another Tang Soo Do do jang in a nearby town. I took some time off in high school--I wish I could say it was all to excel in my studies, but I was also young and did not quite realize how important martial arts was to me. As a senior in high school, I started training hard and regularly again--I earned my black belt as a sophomore in college. I trained and helped teach until I graduated from college.