Got any tips for me?

bookworm_cn317

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
I've been thinking about this a lot lately, and I think I'm going to start competing. So I (being a COMPLETE newbie at this) need to know what a first-timer should expect? Or tips/ things I SHOULD know before I compete.
I just don't want to make an idiot of myself.

Ceicei

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
What will you compete in? Kata or sparring?

- Ceicei

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Also what type of event open, point Olympic, or freestyle sparring?

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Probably poomse. I kind of suck at sparring.

One thing that the judges will or should be looking for is good form. How are your stances? How are your strikes, blocks and power? If any of those are lacking, that will effect your outcome in the event. When entering the ring and approaching the judges, be sure to speak clear and loud enough so they can hear you, when you're telling them what form you'll be doing. Make sure you're making eye contact with all of them.

Pick a form that you feel comfortable with and drill it over and over and over. Have someone watch you to critique you. You also may want to video tape yourself. When running through the form, break it down move by move. Do each move, with a pause, so you can check out your stance, etc. and then go onto the next part, repeating the process.

One thing to remember when you start competing, is to have fun. Use each event as a learning experience. With every event you enter, you'll have that much more exp.

Good luck! :)

Mike

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
MJS has some great suggestions, so I'm not going to repeat any of those - but I am going to add a couple of things.