For Steve - My self defense training and experience

JowGaWolf

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
This is for you Steve:
How much experience do you have dealing with angry people in general? In person or on a phone? how much training do you have on de-escalation? I mean, formal training, but you can share informal training, too.

I've dealt with aggressive people all my life. I have lived in and worked in violent areas, I've been confronted with guns. I work in IT support and I deal with angry customers from time to time which is how I know how the call center works and how your assumption about de-escalation and call centers is incorrect.

I don't have any formal training. Lots of stuff I learned from black parents who went through worse teaching their black child how not to be a victim of the streets. MMA folks always talking about pressure testing . The fact that I've been through some of the stuff I've been through and lived in some of the places I've lived in without trauma or injury speaks to my ability to apply self defense skills. The only time conflict with people stopped being an issue was probably 4 years ago. People don't try to test me like they used to. The last issue was a glitch at the gym. This guy thought I was trying to start something to with him. He walked 3 feet and saw I wasn't looking at him I was trying to see my phone.

A lot of what I was taught to stay safe on the streets are the same lessons I teach in self-defense. A lot of what is taught in TMA schools that doesn't deal with fighting lines up with the success I've had with my own self-defense.

Last edited:

Hanshi

Blue Belt
Reaction score