Does your school teach self defense or fighting?

chinto

Senior Master
Reaction score
As martial artists, we all train for our own unique reasons. Some of us train for trophies, some for social acceptance, some for tradition and ritual, and some for self defense. Those are all valid reasons, and I'm not trying to put forth that any one is more appropriate than any other.

I train for self defense. That has always been my perspective on martial arts. It's why I started training in the first place. I spend a lot of time reading about and discussing self defense. It's what I'm in to.

Because that's my personal interest in martial arts, I get irritated when someone tries to dress up what they are doing as self defense for marketing purposes. I don't mind if a martial arts school is teaching positive self image and affirmations, that's fine, but when they pretend they're teaching self defense, it bothers me. I don't mind when a school teaches acrobatics, but when they pretend it's self defense, it bothers me.

And I don't mind when a school teaches fighting, but when they pretend it's self defense, it bothers me. Just like I would expect them to be bothered if I taught self defense and pretended it was for competition, or positive self affirmation, or acrobatics.

So I got to thinking tonight. I think self defense instruction needs to incoporate more than just combatives. Punching and kicking and grappling are all an important part of self defense, but they aren't all there is.