Estimated Income of a TKD School

T

tkdDougie

I have been considering opening a TKD school recently. I have been involved in the art for 20 years. During the day I am a computer consultant and that is what I am educated in.

I was wondering if someone could help me figure out annual salary based on the following:

150 students
$50 / month
bi monthly testings

I will need another instructor to help (not sure what i should pay or how to structure that)

the cost of insurance?
the cost of rent
what is the average time to acquire 150 students, is 1 1/2 years reasonable?

what is the average annual salary of a school owner with these statistics?

It seems to me nobody seems to make a lot of money in martial arts schools (except where I was taught) am i missing something?

thanks

OP
L

lvwhitebir

When I opened my school I had the same questions. Here are some of the things I found out.

My average monthly expenditures were about $4000-5000. That included rent (2000 sq. ft.), insurance, phone, heating/cooling, electricity, school supplies/gear, and advertising (yellow pages, occasional newspaper ad). Rent alone was about $2000 per month. I had a full-time job as well, so I didn't have to worry about health insurance, which is very expensive (I believe $500 a month is about right as a guess).

To survive the opening months, I had to have about $20K in the bank. That included money for the build-out, lawyer fees, incorporation fees, signage, and to pay the bills until enough students joined to do that.

Taking your figures into account, I think it would give you about $25-30K a year, before taxes and without taking ancillary income into play (e.g., selling gear), once you reached 150 students.