Enough

Seig

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Mountaineer Martial Arts - Shepherdstown,WV
Has anyone stopped to think about this eternal urinary olympiad? Let's face it, with everyone trying to validate their own thought system by invalidating others is in effect nullifying both. I realize that in the grand scheme of things, I am but a lowly being. But I am a lowly being with ambition. That's right, ambition, for myself, my students, and my organization. Compared to some, I am new to Kenpo, but with over 25 years martial arts experience, I am not exactly a babe in the woods. Kenpo is by the definition of our founder a living, breathing thing. Things that live and grow also change. Look at humans, we are born helpless and in diapers. We grow into child hood and develop skill sets. We grow into our teenage years, where we continue to develop new skills while refining old one while defining ourselves. We grow into young adults with hopefully a good base of skills to draw on. We still learn new ones and refine old ones and sometimes find we have to redefine ourselves. Next, for a large sum, we move on to parenthood, where we are now passing our learned skills to our offspring, and their cycle begins. Thus beginning a circle within our own. As we move onto middle age, we become set in our ways and find change difficult. As we move into our golden years, bodies may start to fail, giving us new challenges and sometimes new skills to be learned. For some that are lucky, they may now be having grand children, a circle within the circle within a circle. Slowly we return to where we started, needing constant care, completing our own circle. SO if life can be described as circles within circles and intersecting circle (our interactions with others) and Kenpo is a living thing, would not the same statements hold true?
White Belt=Infant
Childhood=yellow through green
Teenager=Brown through 1st Black
Young Adult=Second Black
Parenthood= 3rd and 4th Black
etc.....