does a sambunim be a superfighter?

Manny

Senior Master
Reaction score
When I was a teen I did compete in some tournaments most of them regionals or state, don-t recall how many competitions I was in but maybe not more then 8 or 10.

A few wekks ago I found a nice cloth pouch and inside were some medals there were 5 or 6 .

Well I never was a competitor per se however I think one has not to be a top competitor or national champion to be a good sambonim and I am asking you cause I want to teach but my curriculum is limited but I´ve been told I am a good instructor, who takes care of the kids and always willing to teach.

Manny

ATC

Senior Master
Reaction score
You do not have to be a super fighter in tournament sparring to be a good teacher. I myself only have a few tournament fights under my belt. My GM was not a person that did many tournaments either and he was mine and my Sabumnim's Master.

My Sabumnim however is an awesome tournament fighter but also a great teacher as well.

I am only an instructor but many of the parents and students really love what and how I teach. It is all about the knowledge and if you can pass that knowledge. You students will use and apply that knowledge as needed by them.

IcemanSK

El Conquistador nim!
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
It depends on how you want to teach. If you want your students to be powerhouses in tournaments, then I'd think a background of competing in tournaments would be a must. If you don't feel that is the direction you want to go, then no, you wouldn't need to be a champion fighter.

As important as the techniques we teach are, we teach students, not techniques. Techniques are the tool that we use to teach people. I've seen plenty of great fighters who cannot teach their way out of paper bag. And I've seen folks who are not great fighters who can teach very well.

Gorilla

Master of Arts
Reaction score