Customized Martial Art for Boxer

JHcKcq

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello,

I've been boxing for several years now. Lately I got bored and decided to try something that involves the whole body. Something, where I would be able to make 1 amateur fight and where I can use my advantage: boxing.

Muay Thai came into my mind, but according to some YouTube videos, Muay Thai focuses more on kicks.

Another idea was K-1. It looks very interesting, but there are no gyms in my area, that explicitly focus on K-1, only Muay Thai or Kickboxing.

Another option is MMA. My concern here is, that I would need to study a lot in order to succeed in this diverse style.
Is it necessary to master all major styles (Muay Thai, Grappling etc.) for being somehow successful in MMA (on a low level)? Or is it enough to study the basics of kicking and grappling, and during a fight focus mainly on boxing?

Thanks.

Holmejr

Black Belt
Reaction score
So much of this comes down to you as an athlete and fighter.
If I hear you correctly, you want to train to sports fight and not necessarily combat self defense.
Muay Thai is a great art, yes it incorporates kicking, but it also incorporates elbows, knees and throws/sweeps. It doesn’t have a ground component, but modern Muay Thai does teach take down defense.
BJJ is the most common MA of ground fighting. There are others grappling styles as well. As you can see in pro MMA, a good kick boxer/Muay Thai fighter with excellent take down defense holds their own quite well. On the ground it’s really efficient and effective.
MMA (schools) is a jack of all trades, but not necessarily a master of any one thing. You learn aspects of kickboxing, grappling and boxing.

I’m 66 years old, but if younger I’d probably go MMA as a compliment to my Eskrido de Alcuizar training. But I’m primarily combat self defense and get a decent work out oriented.

You really need to visit schools and observe beginning to advanced classes. Ask pertinent questions of the instructors.